Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Lok Sabha 2024: TMC Unveils List Of 42 Candidates, Includes Cricketer Yusuf Pathan

At the grand Brigade rally in Kolkata, Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee revealed the party's 42 Lok Sabha candidates

Edited By : Aniket Raj | Updated: Mar 10, 2024 14:49 IST
Share :

The Trinamool Congress unveiled its candidates for all 42 Lok Sabha seats for the upcoming 2024 election, ignoring the INDIA bloc. Abhishek Banerjee made the announcement at the Brigade Ground march. Former cricketer Yusuf Pathan will contest from Baharampur. Notably, sitting MP Nusrat Jahan was dropped from the list for 2024, including from the Basirhat constituency.

Mahua Moitra, who was expelled from the Lok Sabha due to a bribe-for-question scam, will be contesting from the Krishnanagar Lok Sabha constituency. This is the same seat that she won in 2019.

Also Read: Holi Special Trains: Know Timings, Fare, And Route Plan

Following the Sandeshkhali incident, Nusrat Jahan, the incumbent MP, has been removed from her position. Haji Nurul Islam will now be contesting from the Basirhat constituency, which includes Sandeshkhali.

Actor Saayoni Ghosh will be contesting from the Jadavpur constituency after actor Mimi Chakraborty announced her intention to retire from politics.

Trinamool Congress revealed former cricketer Yusuf Pathan as their candidate for the Baharampur constituency. Historically, Baharampur has been a stronghold of the Congress, represented by Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury since 1999. The Congress-TMC seat-sharing negotiations faced a deadlock over this seat, as Mamata Banerjee was reluctant to cede it to the Congress.

Also Read: Modi Doosri Mitti Ka Insaan Hai: PM In Azamgarh

First published on: Mar 10, 2024 02:27 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story