Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Lok Sabha 2024: Akhilesh Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Mahua Moitra, And Others—Key Candidates In Phase 4

Following this phase, voting will continue in subsequent stages on May 20, May 25, and June 1, with the election results set to be declared on June 4, three days after the final phase of voting.

Edited By : Aniket Raj | Updated: May 12, 2024 17:07 IST
Share :
Lok Sabha Election
Lok Sabha Election

The fourth stage of the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections is scheduled for May 13, encompassing 96 constituencies spread across nine states and one union territory.

In this phase, voters in Andhra Pradesh will cast their ballots for all 25 seats, while those in Telangana will participate in the electoral process for 17 constituencies. Uttar Pradesh will see voting in 13 seats, Maharashtra in 11, West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh in 8 each, Bihar and Jharkhand in 5, Odisha in 4, and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir will also be contested.

The spotlight is on the Kannauj seat in Uttar Pradesh, with the president of the Samajwadi Party, Akhilesh Yadav, entering the fray as a candidate. He will be facing off against Subrat Pathak of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

In addition to Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal will once again take center stage in this phase as Trinamool Congress leader Mahua Moitra is set to contest from the Krishnanagar constituency.

Also Read: Traffic Police Advisory: Avoid These 4 Major Roads In Bengaluru Today Ahead of RCB Vs DC Match

Here are the key figures to watch out for in Phase 4 of the Lok Sabha elections along with their respective constituencies and party affiliations:

– Akhilesh Yadav (party president): Contesting from Kannauj (Uttar Pradesh) representing BSP.
– Yusuf Pathan (former cricketer): Standing for Baharampur (West Bengal) under TMC. He faces Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary.
– Mahua Moitra: Competing in Krishnanagar (West Bengal) representing TMC.
– Giriraj Singh (Union minister): Contesting from Begusarai (Bihar) representing BJP.
– YS Sharmila: Running for Kadapa (Andhra Pradesh) under Congress. She is the sister of state CM YS Jagan Reddy.
– Arjun Munda (Union Minister): Contesting from Khunti (Jharkhand) representing BJP.
– Shatrughan Sinha (actor-politician): Competing in Asansol (West Bengal) representing TMC.
– Madhavi Latha (actor-turned-politician): Running for Hyderabad (Telangana) representing BJP.

Following this phase, the voting will proceed in subsequent stages on May 20, May 25, and June 1. The Lok Sabha election results are scheduled to be declared on June 4, which is three days after the conclusion of the last phase of voting.

Also Read: Tamil Nadu: Police Discover Dead Body In Parked Car On Highway, Arrest Two Suspects

First published on: May 12, 2024 05:07 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story