Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


IPL 2024: Rohit Sharma’s 105* Goes In Vain As CSK Beat Mumbai By 20 Runs

Rohit Sharma's fiery 105* went in vain for the 5-time champions as the defending champions claimed the win by 20 runs.

Edited By : Shashwat Nishant | Updated: Apr 14, 2024 23:24 IST
Share :

Match 29 of the Indian Premier League saw a match worthy of being called an ‘El Clasico’ as 2 teams sharing 10 IPL titles between them took the pitch against one another. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings reigned supreme on the night as they defeated the Mumbai Indians by 20 runs at the Wankhede on April 14.

Gaikwad-Dube Show

Batting first, Chennai Super Kings didn’t have a promising start to their innings as opener Ajinkya Rahane was dismissed for just 5 runs by a Gerald Coetzee delivery in the 2nd over.

However, Ruturaj Gaikwad, the new CSK skipper, held his ground and steadily accumulated runs, contributing to a challenging total for CSK in the 1st innings. Shivam Dube joined him to build a partnership and put pressure on the MI bowlers in the latter part of the innings.

Gaikwad’s impressive innings of 69 runs was complemented by Dube’s unbeaten 66 off 38 balls. Their partnership of 90 runs ensured that CSK would have a substantial total to defend in the 2nd innings.

MS Dhoni’s cameo of 20 runs further excited the crowd, with his remarkable strike rate of 241 in the 20th over in IPL history. Dhoni’s three powerful sixes added to the nostalgic atmosphere of the match as the score reached to a huge 204/4.

Rohit’s Century In Vain

In reply, MI openers Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan knew what they had to do from the beginning to chase the mammoth total. While Ishan Kishan got dismissed at just 23, Rohit Sharma continued to show his class throughout the chase with some spectacular power hitting on the night.

Rohit kept scoring from one end while he saw MI star batter Suryakumar Yadav go back for a duck. Tilak Varma also came in and contributed well with a 20-ball 31 but was later dismissed by Matheesha Pathirana who returned to the fold.

Rohit Sharma’s innings which consisted of 5 sixes also made him the first Indian ever to score 500 sixes in T20 cricket.

With 59 required off 21 deliveries, it was Rohit Sharma and Romario Shepherd who were the fans’ only hope to take the team over the line.

In came Matheesha Pathirana again and spectacularly dismissed Shepherd (1) to claim his 4th wicket of the night. It was a return to cherish for Pathirana who recorded his best-ever T20 spell on the night.

In the end, Rohit Sharma’s fiery 105* went in vain for the 5-time champions as the defending champions claimed the win by 20 runs.

Also Read: ‘Worst Kind Of Bowling..’ Sunil Gavaskar On Hardik Pandya’s 20th Over Vs CSK

First published on: Apr 14, 2024 11:24 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story