Sunday, 25 February, 2024


Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: Here Are Key Battlegrounds And Contestants As Polling Kicks Off

Voting for Rajasthan Assembly elections kicked off 7 am and will continue till 6 pm. Here are some important details that you should look out for.

Edited By : Malika Sahni | Updated: Nov 25, 2023 08:20 IST
Share :

Today marked the commencement of voting for 199 assembly seats out of the total 200 in Rajasthan. This crucial electoral process started after an intense campaign period by major political factions, with both the ruling Congress and the BJP vying for dominance.

Tragically, the elections for the Karanpur constituency were postponed due to the demise of Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Koonar.

Voting began at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm, accompanied by robust security measures to ensure a fair and peaceful electoral process.

The Congress aims for a successive term, while the BJP seeks to overturn the Ashok Gehlot-led government, capitalizing on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s popularity.

Several significant figures are contesting in this election, including Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, former CM Vasundhara Raje, former Deputy CM Sachin Pilot, Congress national spokesperson Gourav Vallabh, Union Minister Rajyavardhan Rathore, Vishwaraj Singh Mewar, Rajasthan Assembly Speaker CP Joshi, and Rajasthan LoP Rajendra Rathore.

Despite efforts to dissuade them, around 45 rebel candidates from both major parties remain in the running, including MLAs, former MLAs, and party officials.

Also Read: Daily Horoscope, November 25: Unveil Celestial Revelations For Your Zodiac Sign!  

The polling stations witnessed heightened attention on constituencies such as Sardarpura, Tonk, Jhalarapatan, Nathdwara, Jhunjhunu, Jhotwara, and Churu.

In Tonk, Sachin Pilot contends against BJP’s Ajit Singh Mehta, and in Jhalarapatan, Vasundhara Raje stands for re-election.

Key seats like Nathdwara, Jhunjhunu, and Churu witness high-stakes battles between prominent leaders, adding to the electoral fervor.

The polling will conclude at 6 pm, with results slated for declaration on December 3, shaping the destiny of 1,875 candidates, including 183 women, contesting across 199 constituencies.

Also Read: BMTC’s Ambitious Plan: Boosting Electric Bus Fleet To 1,751 Vehicles Amid Operational Challenges

First published on: Nov 25, 2023 08:20 AM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story