Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Lok Sabha 2024: BJP’s Stalwart Mahesh Sharma Aims For Third Term, Stage Set For Clash Of Titans

Voting for the constituency is slated for the second phase on April 26th, while the vote counting is scheduled for June 26th. Mahesh Sharma, a BJP stalwart and two-time Member of Parliament, also holds a profession as a doctor. He garners robust backing from urban voters, a stronghold for the BJP.

Edited By : Saurav Gupta | Mar 27, 2024 20:20 IST
Share :
Lok Sabha 2024
Lok Sabha 2024

Lok Sabha 2024: With the BJP nominating its sitting MP Mahesh Sharma for the third consecutive time, the Gautam Buddha Nagar Lok Sabha constituency is gearing up for a three-cornered contest in the upcoming elections. The Samajwadi Party has put forward Rahul Awana as the INDIA block candidate, while the BSP has chosen Rajendra Singh Solanki to contest.

Also read: Lok Sabha 2024: EC Issues Notice To Dilip Ghosh, Supriya Shrinate For Remarks Against Women

Voting for the constituency is scheduled in the second phase on April 26, with vote counting set for June 26. Mahesh Sharma, a two-time MP from the BJP and a doctor by profession, enjoys strong support from urban voters, a traditional base for the BJP. Awana, aged 38 and a local Gujjar candidate, has garnered significant support from youth voters and the Gujjar community, which holds sway in the region. The BSP, aiming to regain its foothold after winning the seat in 2009, is banking on the support of farmers and its traditional voter base, with added emphasis on rural outreach, considering BSP Chief Mayawati’s roots in one of the Greater Noida villages.

Sharma highlights the developmental initiatives undertaken by the Narendra Modi government for the district, while the SP is advocating for change, and the BSP asserts its track record of regional development. With all major parties putting forth considerable efforts to sway voters, the electoral battle promises to be intriguing.

Also read: Lok Sabha 2024: Varun Gandhi Opts Out Of Election Race, Will Campaign For Maneka Gandhi

The Gautam Buddha Nagar constituency, formerly part of the Khurja Lok Sabha constituency before delimitation, has seen a varied political landscape over the years. Notable past winners include Mahesh Sharma (BJP) in 2014 and 2019, and Surendra Singh Nagar (BSP) in 2009. Issues such as infrastructure development, public transportation, women’s safety, and expansion of the metro network are expected to shape the electoral discourse this time. Additionally, concerns related to real estate, particularly among home buyers and investors, are gaining prominence.

During the 2019 parliamentary elections, the constituency comprised 23,02,960 voters, with a notable gender balance among voters. Mahesh Sharma secured victory with a significant margin, polling 8,30,812 votes and defeating BSP candidate Satveer Nagar. In the 2014 elections, Sharma emerged victorious with a vote share of 50.00%, defeating SP candidate Narendra Bhati by a substantial margin.

Also read: Lok Sabha 2024: Richest Candidate In Tamil Nadu Lives King-Size Life, Owns 20 KG Gold, School-College And More

First published on: Mar 27, 2024 08:20 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story