Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


It Shows The Party’s ‘True Colours’, Ashok Gehlot Digs At BJP’s Failure To Appoint Rajasthan’s CM

Ashok Gehlot, hit out at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for its failure to promptly announce the next Rajasthan chief minister.

Edited By : Malika Sahni | Updated: Dec 9, 2023 16:33 IST
Share :

Rajasthan’s former Chief Minister, Ashok Gehlot, hit out at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for its failure to promptly announce the next state chief minister. Gehlot criticized this delay, labeling it as indicative of the “true colors” of the BJP and highlighting what he perceived as a lack of discipline within the party.

He asserted that had the Congress not presented a chief ministerial candidate within six days of the poll results, the BJP would have likely alleged internal conflicts and discord within the Congress. Gehlot expressed dismay, emphasizing the seven-day delay by the BJP in deciding on a chief minister while simultaneously claiming discipline within their own party.

“The true colors of the BJP are becoming evident. They couldn’t decide on a chief minister for seven days, yet they talk about discipline in our party,” Gehlot remarked, underscoring the irony of the situation.

The BJP is poised to establish its governance in Rajasthan after securing 115 seats out of the 199-member Assembly following the December 3 poll results. Notably, the party did not endorse any leader for the post, with PM Modi spearheading the campaign.

In response to Gehlot’s criticism, Rajasthan BJP State president CP Joshi reminded Gehlot of the 16-day duration it took for the Congress to decide on the Rajasthan chief minister after the 2018 election results were announced. Joshi questioned the delay in the Congress appointing the Leader of Opposition and urged Gehlot to focus on his own concerns, affirming the strength of the BJP.

Speculations abound regarding the frontrunners for the Chief Minister’s post, including Vasundhara Raje, former Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Minister Arjun Meghwal, and party MPs Baba Balaknath and Diya Kumari, all of whom won seats in the assembly elections.

Additionally, the BJP designated central observers for the selection of leaders for its legislature parties in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Rajasthan. For the border state, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Vinod Tawade, and Saroj Pandey have been named as the observers.

Commenting on the BJP’s significant victory in Rajasthan, Gehlot attributed it to the party’s creation of a polarized atmosphere. He criticized the BJP for focusing solely on the Kanhaiyalal murder and fostering tension, polarization, and division within the Hindu-Muslim communities, attributing the BJP’s success in the elections to these tactics.

Also Read: Telangana: Akbaruddin Owaisi Named Pro-Tem Speaker, BJP MLAs Didn’t Take Oath In Protest

First published on: Dec 09, 2023 04:33 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story