Friday, December 2, 2022

Latest Posts

Gujarat Polls: Congress introduces star campaigners, Where does the party stand?

New Delhi: The Congress Party has released a list of its top campaigners for the Gujarat Assembly Elections in 2022. This includes the names of senior leaders such as newly elected party chief Mallikarjun Kharge.

Along with Kharge, United Progressive Front (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Wayanad MP Rahul Gandhi, general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, Sachin Pilot, Jignesh Mevani, Kanhaiya Kumar will be rooting up for the party in the poll-bound state.

The elections for the Gujarat Assembly will take place in two phases on December 1 and December 5, and the results will be declared on December 8. The voting will be conducted on a total of 182 seats.

In the Gujarat Assembly elections, 3,24,422 new voters will cast their vote for the first time. The total number of voting centers is 51,782.

Setback for Congress in Gujarat

In the month of May, the Congress took a major blow when Patidar leader Hardik Patel quit the grand old party, saying the party seemed not to be interested in hearing about the problems facing Gujarat’s people.

The Patidar leader was named working president of the Gujarat Congress Committee and was given primary membership in the Congress Party. He alleged that “all I and my community faced was ridicule and contempt” whenever Patel tried to do something for Gujaratis.


Later, the Patidar leader joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has been the ruling government for around 27 years.

Patel rose to prominence in 2015 when he led a Patidar movement against the state government led by Anandiben Patel that demanded quotas for the community under the “economically backward” category.

Congress Has More Contenders This Time, Unlike 2017 

In the 2017 Gujarat Assembly Polls, the Congress was in close competition with the BJP. The grand-old party had also managed to gain a good number of votes but still could not form the government as it lost to the saffron party, which had won 99 seats.

With that score, the Congress had slight chances of winning the 2022 state elections. However, this time, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has emerged as one of the competitors as well.

AAP has been holding several rallies in the state while also keeping an eye on preparations for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls scheduled for December 4. AAP has introduced journalist turned politician Isudan Gadhvi as a Chief Ministerial face.


Latest Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -