Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury Announces The Names Of Two New Election Commissioners

Adhir Chowdhury announced the appointment of Sukhbir Sandhu and Gyanesh Kumar as election commissioners, feeling his role was merely formal. The Election Commission is now fully staffed.

Edited By : Aniket Raj | Updated: Mar 14, 2024 14:33 IST
Share :
election commission
election commission

Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, who serves as the Opposition member in the three-member selection committee, revealed that bureaucrats Sukhbir Sandhu and Gyanesh Kumar have been appointed as election commissioners.

The vacancies arrived following the retirement of Anup Chandra Pandey in February and the unexpected resignation of Arun Goel last Saturday. Consequently, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar remained as the sole member of the poll authority.

The selection committee comprises the prime minister, a Union minister nominated by the PM, and the Leader of the Opposition or the single largest Opposition party in Lok Sabha, in this instance, Chowdhury.

Reports suggest that Chowdhury had written to Legislative Department Secretary Rajiv Mani, requesting details of the shortlisted candidates for the post of Election Commissioners, including their bio-data.

Also Read: ‘It Will Not Be Implemented In North East As…’, Union HM Amit Shah Over CAA

Reacting to the development on Thursday, Chowdhury expressed his dissatisfaction, stating, “I was just called for formality. The names had already been decided.” This suggests that he felt the decision-making process was predetermined and his role in the selection committee was merely perfunctory.

Originally, the commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). However, with the recent appointments, it now consists of the CEC and two election commissioners, bringing the commission back to its full strength.

Two additional commissioners were initially appointed on October 16, 1989, but their tenure was brief, lasting until January 1, 1990. Subsequently, on October 1, 1993, two more additional election commissioners were appointed.

Since then, the concept of a multi-member Election Commission (EC) has been in operation, with decisions made by a majority vote among the members. This structure allows for a broader representation and collaboration within the Election Commission, ensuring balanced decision-making processes.

Also Read: 30K Farmers, 800 Trucks, Buses, Private Vehicles To Reach Delhi To Attend Kisan Mazdoor Mahapanchayat

First published on: Mar 14, 2024 02:33 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story