Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Historic Move: BRICS Inducts 6 Powerhouse Nations In Its Biggest Expansion Yet

BRICS alliance expands by adding Argentina, Ethiopia, Egypt, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE, marking a historic shift in global cooperation.

Edited By : Mayank Kasyap | Updated: Aug 24, 2023 14:18 IST
Share :
BRICS Summit (Photo Credit: ANI File)
BRICS Summit (Photo Credit: ANI File)

New Delhi: In a monumental shift, the BRICS alliance has announced the inclusion of six formidable nations into its fold. Argentina, Ethiopia, Egypt, Iran, Saudi Arabia (KSA), and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have now become part of this influential group, marking the first expansion since 2010.

BRICS, the alliance of leading emerging economies, has embarked on an unprecedented journey of expansion by inviting six dynamic nations to join its ranks. This move signals a significant shift in the geopolitical landscape, as these new members bring diverse strengths and perspectives to the table.

Argentina joins the elite

Argentina, renowned for its rich cultural heritage and economic prowess, enters the BRICS alliance with enthusiasm. Its inclusion reflects the alliance’s commitment to fostering cooperation among nations with immense potential for growth.

Africa’s voice strengthened

Ethiopia, a nation of historical significance and economic vitality, is set to enhance the voice of Africa within BRICS. Its diverse contributions to agriculture, technology, and cultural heritage promise to enrich the alliance’s discussions.

Egypt: A bridge between continents

Egypt’s strategic positioning and cultural legacy make it an invaluable addition to BRICS. Its history of innovation and diplomacy aligns seamlessly with the alliance’s objectives, solidifying its role as a bridge between continents.

Iran’s resilience joins the mix

Iran’s resilience and strategic influence in the Middle East add a new dimension to BRICS. As a nation with a rich history of trade and innovation, it is poised to contribute significantly to the alliance’s economic and geopolitical discussions.

KSA, UAE amplify Gulf presence

The inclusion of Saudi Arabia (KSA) and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) reinforces the alliance’s presence in the Gulf region. With their economic prowess and strategic importance, KSA and UAE bring a fresh perspective to BRICS’ pursuits.

A landmark expansion

This expansion is a historic moment for BRICS, marking its most extensive growth since 2010. The inclusion of these six nations underscores BRICS’ commitment to inclusivity and the exploration of diverse pathways to prosperity.

First published on: Aug 24, 2023 01:45 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story