Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


Viral Video: Alex Carey’s Spectacular Catch Sends Ruturaj Gaikwad Back To Dugout

Witness the moment when Alex Carey's incredible dive during the India vs. Australia 2nd ODI sent Ruturaj Gaikwad back to stands.

Edited By : Mayank Kasyap | Updated: Sep 24, 2023 16:59 IST
Share :
Alex Carey, Ruturaj Gaikwad (Photo Credit: ANI File)
Alex Carey, Ruturaj Gaikwad (Photo Credit: ANI File)

Indore: In a thrilling second One Day International (ODI) match between India and Australia in Indore, a sensational moment unfolded as wicket-keeper Alex Carey’s diving catch sent Indian opener Ruturaj Gaikwad back to the pavilion. Gaikwad, who had shown promise with the bat, was unfortunate to fall to Carey’s brilliant catch off Josh Hazlewood’s bowl.

Ruturaj Gaikwad’s innings in the second ODI proved to be a brief one, as he managed to score just eight runs off 12 balls. His innings included two boundaries. However, it was the combination of Josh Hazlewood’s precise bowling and Alex Carey’s exceptional fielding that led to Gaikwad’s dismissal.

Video of the stunning catch by Alex Carey

Hazlewood, the first-wicket taker for Australia in this innings, delivered a good-length ball to Gaikwad. The Indian opener attempted to defend it, but the ball deviated slightly, catching the edge of his bat. In a breathtaking display of athleticism, wicket-keeper Alex Carey swiftly reacted, diving to his right to grasp the ball, securing a crucial wicket for Australia.

It was a pivotal moment in the match as Gaikwad’s departure disrupted India’s early momentum. His previous performance in the series had been noteworthy, with 71 runs off 77 balls, including ten fours in the first match against the Pat Cummins-led Australian side. Although not part of the World Cup squad, Gaikwad is set to lead a second-string Indian team at the upcoming Asian Games 2023 in Huangzhou.

Australia’s won the toss, elected to bowl first

Australia’s stand-in captain for the second ODI, Steve Smith, won the toss and elected to bowl first at the Holkar Stadium in Indore. The Australian team had made three strategic changes to their playing XI, providing rest to skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Marsh, and Marcus Stoinis.

In the previous encounter, the KL Rahul-led Indian side secured a five-wicket victory, courtesy of Mohammed Shami’s brilliant five-wicket haul. As a result, India holds a 1-0 lead in the three-match series and aims to clinch both the match and the series in this contest.

The match between these cricketing giants promises to be an exciting battle, with fans eagerly anticipating more thrilling moments and memorable performances.

First published on: Sep 24, 2023 04:59 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story