Wednesday, 17 April, 2024
Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


T20 World Cup: When Will India’s Squad Be Announced? Here’s The Answer

The BCCI is set to reveal India's T20 World Cup squad by late April, evaluating players' performance post-IPL. Departures for the USA commence after IPL's league stage, with standby players likely to accompany the team.

Edited By : Aniket Raj | Updated: Mar 30, 2024 18:58 IST
Share :
T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup

India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies is expected to be announced in the final week of April, as per a BCCI source. The ICC’s deadline for team submissions is May 1, with teams permitted to make changes to their initial squads until May 25.

The Indian team will be selected sometime during the last week of April, by which time the first half of the IPL will be over. The national selection committee will assess the form and fitness of the contenders before finalizing the squad, as per a senior BCCI source.

The first group of cricketers will depart for New York right after the conclusion of the league stage of the IPL on May 19. Players from teams not making it to the final four will depart earlier, similar to the arrangements made during the WTC finals last year, as per the source.

Also Read: ‘Sachin Played Under Ganguly’, Ashwin Comes In Support Of Teammate Hardik Pandya Amidst Hate From MI Fans

Given that the tournament will take place in the USA and West Indies, it is anticipated that some of the stand-by players will accompany the team to mitigate logistical challenges in case of injuries or unforeseen events. The four national selectors will attend most matches, a departure from previous editions where they primarily monitored matches via television, underscoring the importance of this World Cup.

The T20 World Cup 2024 will showcase a record 20 teams, marking an increase from the 16 teams in the 2022 edition. With a total of 55 matches scheduled, this tournament stands as the largest cricket event ever organized by the ICC. In addition to the host countries, the top eight teams from the previous competition earned automatic qualification, alongside the subsequent two teams from the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

Also Read: ‘Elephant Covered In Dust…’, Navjot Singh Sidhu Praises Rohit Sharma

First published on: Mar 30, 2024 06:22 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story