Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


IPL 2024: SunRisers Hyderabad Cruise To 4-Wicket Victory vs PBKS In Final Home Game

it was Heinrich Klaasen and Shahbaz Ahmed who took the home team through to the finish line and would now hope that Rajasthan Royals fail to do so to get that 2nd spot.

Edited By : Shashwat Nishant | Updated: May 19, 2024 19:15 IST
Share :

SRH vs PBKS: Match 69 of the Indian Premier League (IPl 2024) witnessed the SunRisers Hyderabad stay right on track to get that number 2 spot on the league table with a comfortable 4-wicket win in their final home game against the Punjab Kings at the Uppal Stadium on May 19.

Prabhsimran’s 71 Powers PBKS To 214/6

Opting to bat first, PBKS openers Prabhsimran Singh and Atharva Taide put early pressure on the SRH bowlers with their aggressive shots from the outset. Atharva departed after a well-played 46, but his opening partner continued to score for the visitors.

Prabhsimran Singh’s 45-ball 71 guided Punjab Kings to a strong total in their final game of the season. Rilee Rossouw, the only overseas player in the squad, also made a significant contribution with a score of 49, though he fell just short of his half-century.

Despite having already qualified for the playoffs, SRH aimed to secure 2nd place in the table to gain two chances to reach the final on May 26 and did not go easy on PBKS.

Ultimately, it was skipper Jitesh Sharma’s unbeaten 32 that helped the visitors reach a respectable 214/5 in their 20 overs, marking their final batting innings of IPL 2024.

The pacers delivered for the hosts, with Pat Cummins, T Natarajan (2), and Vijaykanth Viyaskanth taking wickets, while Nitish Reddy achieved a spectacular run-out to dismiss Shashank Singh.

Abhishek Sharma Stars For The Hosts

In reply, it was the worst start possible for the hosts as Aussie opener Travis Head was dismissed for a golden duck courtesy of a brilliant Arshdeep Singh delivery on the very first ball of the chase.

His opening partner, however, kept batting like he had been batting throughout the tournament as Abhishek Sharma showcased another fine display of power hitting on the night. His 28-ball 66 consisted of 5 boundaries and 6 sixes which had the SRH fans on their feet during his knock.

Rahul Tripathi’s 18-ball 33 also contributed well in the chase which saw the hosts cruising to victory on the night. In the end, Heinrich Klaasen’s 26-ball 42 took the home team through to the finish line, as SRH would now hope that Rajasthan Royals fail to beat KKR to get that 2nd spot.

Also Read: WATCH: MS Dhoni Reaches Ranchi After CSK’s Loss Against RCB

First published on: May 19, 2024 07:15 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story