Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


IND vs SA: Yuzvendra Chahal’s Joyous Return To Team India After Lengthy Hiatus

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the team lineup for the upcoming South African tour.

Edited By : Saurav Gupta | Updated: Dec 1, 2023 18:02 IST
Share :
Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal

After nearly 11 months, Yuzvendra Chahal is set to make a comeback to the Indian team, finding a place in the squad for the ODI series against South Africa. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the team lineup for the upcoming South African tour, where Chahal secured a spot in the blue jersey for the three-match ODI series.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Yuzvendra Chahal (@yuzi_chahal23) 

Chahal was previously included in the Indian squad for the West Indies tour but didn’t get an opportunity to play. He wasn’t part of the teams for the Asia Cup or the ICC ODI World Cup, adding to his wait for a national team return.

Expressing his joy, the experienced spinner took to social media, sharing a picture in the Indian blue jersey, captioned with, ‘Here we go.’ Fans expressed excitement about Chahal’s return, suggesting that his selection for the ODI series was well-deserved, and some even noted the significance of making the most of second chances in life.

Read More: IPL 2024 Auction: Spin Bowlers To Grab Attention, Expected Focus On Sri Lankan Player

Chahal’s international cricket career boasts 152 matches for India, with 217 successes in 148 innings. In ODIs, he has claimed 121 wickets across 69 innings, averaging 27.13, and in T20s, he has taken 96 wickets in 79 innings, averaging 25.09.

Team India Composition:

T20 Series: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Verma, Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

ODI Series: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudarshan, Tilak Verma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (captain/wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

Read More: IND Vs SA: Rohit Sharma Leads Team India’s Bid To Rewrite History In South Africa Test Series

Test Series: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rituraj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Prasidh Krishna.

First published on: Dec 01, 2023 06:02 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story