Saturday, 20 April, 2024
Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma Becomes First Batter To Hit 50 Sixes In ODI World Cups, Breaks Chris Gayle’s Record

India captain Rohit Sharma, who has been in brilliant form on Wednesday surpassed Chris Gayle to became the first batter to hit 50 sixes in ODI World Cup history during the semifinal against New Zealand.

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Nov 15, 2023 15:09 IST
Share :
Rohit Sharma in action
Rohit Sharma in action

India captain Rohit Sharma on Wednesday became the first batter to hit 50 sixes in the ODI World Cup history during the semifinal against New Zealand at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Rohit, who has been in attacking mode during the whole tournament, achieved the feat in his 27th World Cup innings with a brilliant six off pacer Trent Boult in the fifth over of the match.

With this, the 36-year-old surpassed Chris Gayle’s tally of 49 sixes. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers and David Warner also feature in the top-five list of six-hitters in the World Cup.

Most sixes in World Cups

50 – Rohit Sharma

49 – Chris Gayle

43 – Glenn Maxwell

37 – AB de Villiers

37 – David Warner

The current India skipper Rohit, who has been in brilliant form, also created a record of hitting most sixes in a single World Cup edition.

Most sixes in a single World Cup edition

27 – Rohit Sharma (2023)

26 – Chris Gayle (2015)

22 – Eoin Morgan (2019)

22 – Glenn Maxwell (2023)

21 – AB de Villiers (2015)

21 – Quinton de Kock (2023)

Earlier, India won the toss and opted to bat first in the highly anticipated match. The game is a replay of the first semifinal from the 2019 edition of the World Cup where the Kane Williamson-led side beat India in England.

Both sides were unchanged for the semi-final and the onus is on their big stars to shine in an all-important clash.

Playing XIs:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

First published on: Nov 15, 2023 03:09 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story