Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


IND vs AFG, 2nd T20I: Aggressive Afghanistan Batters Register 172 In Indore

Rohit Sharma's men took the upper hand in the 2nd T20I vs Afghanistan as spinners starred for the Men in Blue

Edited By : Shashwat Nishant | Updated: Jan 14, 2024 20:40 IST
Share :

Seeking their first T20I Series win of the year in Indore, Team India started off the 2nd T20I against Afghanistan in some fashion.

Rohit Sharma’s men opted to bowl first on what seemed liked a batting friendly pitch.

However, it was the Indian spinners who starred on the night with Axar Patel, number one T20I ranked bowler Ravi Bishnoi taking 2 wickets each to limit the Afghan batters to a low total. Arshdeep Singh however, led the bowling line up with 3 wickets on the night.  Axar Patel spell took him to 200 T20I wickets in his career as well. The 29-year-old is looking well on his way to book himself a spot in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 as well.

It was Gulbadin Naib who top scored for the visitors with his personal best T20I score of 57 runs in 35 deliveries.

The innings saw many maximums as well as boundaries on the short Indore pitch with fans expecting the same from the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli as well.

The 21-run cameo of Mujeeb Ur Rehman also added some runs on the scoreboard which took Afghanistan to 172 in the end.

Rohit Sharma’s Milestone

Team India skipper Rohit Sharma reached a historic milestone on the night as well, playing his 150th T20I match for the Men in Blue. The feat hasn’t been achieved by any male cricketer in T20I history.

Rohit Sharma is positioned among the top players in the T20 format, with a career adorned by numerous achievements. Making his mark in T20 Internationals during India’s successful 2007 World Cup campaign in South Africa, the Indian opener is tied for the most centuries in the format, having notched up four.

Furthermore, Rohit has set a record for the highest number of sixes in T20 Internationals, an impressive total of 182. He holds the second spot on the list of highest run-scorers in the format, accumulating 3853 runs, with only Virat Kohli ahead of him in this category.

Also Read: IND Vs AFG, 2nd T20I: Rohit Sharma Reaches Historic Milestone In Indore

First published on: Jan 14, 2024 08:40 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story