Trending TopicsIpl 2024Lok Sabha 2024


BCCI To Look For New Selection Committee Ahead Of T20 World Cup 2024

The Board of Control For Cricket In India will be looking for a new selection committee ahead of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024

Edited By : Shashwat Nishant | Updated: Jan 15, 2024 17:55 IST
Share :
Agarkar bcci
Agarkar bcci

The T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled to commence on June 1, 2024, generating widespread discussions about Team India’s roster for the tournament. However, preceding this event, the BCCI has made a noteworthy decision. Ajit Agarkar was appointed as the Chief Selector by the BCCI on July 4, leading a team of four other selectors. Subsequently, the BCCI has released a new advertisement, inviting applications for a fresh selector for the selection committee.

Change In Selection Committee

Within the current BCCI selection committee, Ajit Agarkar holds the position of Chief Selector, accompanied by Shivsundar Das, representing the Central Zone, Subrat Banerjee from the East Zone, Salil Ankola from the West Zone, and Shridharan Sharath from the South Zone. Notably, Ajit Agarkar, the Chief Selector, also hails from the West Zone. This implies that none of these five members belongs to the North Zone. As there are two selectors from the West Zone, Salil Ankola’s role may be in jeopardy, and a position may be filled from the North Zone. Consequently, the new selection committee will be tasked with announcing Team India for the T20 World Cup.

BCCI form

BCCI form

BCCI has issued an advertisement calling for applications for a selector position, outlining eligibility requirements such as a minimum of 7 Tests, 30 first-class matches, or 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches of experience. Applicants must have retired at least 5 years ago and not held any BCCI post in recent years. The application deadline is January 25, and submissions are accepted until 6 PM on that date.

Is Ajit Agarkar On the Verge of Departure?

The board’s announcement doesn’t specify any particular zone, suggesting that the appointment may be for any zone’s position, not necessarily limited to Salil Ankola from the West Zone. If circumstances take a downturn, there could be a change in the Chief Selector position. Ajit Agarkar assumed responsibilities after Chetan Sharma’s resignation, who stepped down after the T20 World Cup 2022, briefly returned as a selector, and resigned again following a sting operation. Agarkar has been in the role since July, and scrutiny will be on him for selecting the Team for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Also Read: Yuvraj Singh Goes Against His Own Brother-In-Law, Backs Hardik Pandya For IPL Captaincy

First published on: Jan 15, 2024 05:55 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story