Sunday, 25 February, 2024


Record 77.04% Voting In Mizoram, Chhattisgarh Registers 70.87 Voter Turnout

A total of 223 candidates, including 25 women, are in the fray in the first phase of Chhattisgarh polls.

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Nov 7, 2023 20:35 IST
Share :

Mizoram recorded 77.04 per cent polling in the assembly elections held on Tuesday while 70.87 per cent of voters exercised their franchise in Chhattisgarh in the first phase of polling in 20 assembly seats in the state, according to Election Commission data at 5 pm.

Mizoram went to polls for all the 40 assembly seats in the state. The elections in Mizoram and first phase polling in Chhattisgarh heralded the start of the voting process in this round of assembly polls with three other states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana slated to go to the polls later this month.

The poll panel data at 5 pm showed Khairagarh-Chhuyikhadangandayi assembly constituency in Chhattisgarh recorded the highest voter turnout of 76.31 per cent in the state. It was closely followed by Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chouki at 76 per cent. The lowest polling was recorded in Bijapur at 40.98 pc. It was 75.51 per cent in Uttar Bastar Kanker, 75.35 per cent in Kondagaon, 75.1 per cent in Rajnandgaon and 72.41 per cent in Bastar (Jagdalpur).

The polling started at 7 am for ten seats – Mohla-Manpur, Antagarh, Bhanupratappur, Kanker, Keshkal, Kondagaon, Narayanpur, Dantewada, Bijapur and Konta. Voting for the remaining assembly constituencies – Pandaria, Kawardha, Khairagarh, Dongargarh, Rajnandgaon, Dongargaon, Khujji, Bastar, Jagdalpur, and Chitrakote began at 8 am.

The polling will decide the electoral fate of former Chief Minister Raman Singh and BJP leaders Bhawna Bohra, Lata Usendi and Gautam Uike. The prominent Congress leaders in the fray in this phase include Mohammad Akbar, Savitri Manoj Mandavi, Mohan Markam, Vikram Mandavi and Kawasi Lakhma.

Also read: ‘BJP Has Accepted Defeat,’ Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel Over ED, IT Raids During Polls

A total of 223 candidates, including 25 women, are in the fray in the first phase of Chhattisgarh polls. The Election Commission set up 5,304 polling booths for this phase in the state. The polling is taking place in the Naxal-affected region of the state apart from some other seats.

Chief Minister Zoramthanga, who is chief of Mizo National Front, is seeking re-election from Aizawl East – I. Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) chief Lalduhoma, a former IPS officer, who is also the party’s chief ministerial candidate, is in the fray from Serchhip. In the 2018 assembly elections, the Mizo National Front (MNF) secured 26 seats with a vote share of 37.8 per cent and ousted Congress from power.

Also read: Congress Govt Failed To Control Naxalism In Chhattisgarh: PM Modi In Surajpur

The Mizo National Front, Indian National Congress and the Zoram People’s Movement have fielded candidates for all 40 seats and BJP has fielded 23 candidates. Voting in the remaining 70 seats in Chhattisgarh will be held on November 17. Counting of votes will be taken up on December 3 in Mizoram and Chhattisgarh along with the three other states.

(Source – ANI)

First published on: Nov 07, 2023 08:35 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story