Sunday, 25 February, 2024


Election Results 2023: ZPM All Set To Form Govt In Mizoram

The Election Commission of India, the incumbent the Mizo National Front (MNF) is trailing with 11 seats.

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Dec 4, 2023 12:40 IST
Share :

Mizoram People’s Movement (ZPM), a six party alliance, is headed toward forming the government on it own in Mizoram. at 12 noon Election Commission trends showed the ZPM leading in 26 of the 40 seats. Among these ZPM has so far clinched 7 wins on Monday as the counting of votes proceeded further.

According to the Election Commission of India, the incumbent the Mizo National Front (MNF) is trailing with 11 seats.
Kolasib- Lal Famikima, Tawi-Prof. Lalnilawma, Aizawl West-I-TBC Lalvenchhunga, Aizawl West-II- Lalnghinglova Hmar, Tuichang- W Chhuanawma, Hrangturzo-LALMUANPUIA PUNTE, South Tuipui- Jeje Lalpekhlua are the winning seats and candidates of the ZPM.

ZPM’s triumphs have been against prominent leaders of the MNF, including two sitting ministers, with Lalnghinglova Hmar defeating state cabinet minister Lalruatkima and W. Chhuanawma overcoming incumbent Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia in Tuichang.
The ZPM’s Lalnghinglova Hmar brought in the party’s second win for the day from the Aizawl West-II constituency. He registered 10398 votes and won with a margin of 4819.

Also Read: Mizoram Election Results 2023 LIVE: ZPM Triumphs Another Major Constituency

ZPM Chief Ministerial candidate Lalduhoma said he would now meet the Governor on Tuesday to stake claim to form the government in the state “Tomorrow or the day after tomorrow I will meet the Governor…Swearing-in will be within this month” Lalduhoma said.

“Mizoram is facing financial crises… That is what we are going to inherit from the outgoing government…We are going to fulfill our commitment… Financial reform is necessary, and for that, we are going to make a resource mobilisation team” Lalduhoma added.
While the ECI has not yet declared the result of the seat, trends indicate that incumbent Chief Minister Zoramthanga is set to lose his Aizawl East – I seat to ZPM’s Lalthansanga. After three out of three rounds of counting, he is trailing by 2101 votes.
The counting of votes in elections to the 40-member Mizoram assembly began Monday morning at 8 a.m.

Four major contenders were in fray in the northeastern state, which voted to elect its 40-member legislative assembly on November 7. These included the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), the Congress and the BJP.
Mizoram’s political landscape has been dominated by the Congress and the Mizo National Front (MNF) since it attained full statehood in 1987.

Source: ANI

First published on: Dec 04, 2023 12:40 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story