Saturday, 24 February, 2024


Rajyavardhan Rathore, Diya Kumari, Narendra Tomar…10 BJP MPs Resign After Winning Assembly Polls

After contending in the assembly elections with flying colours, 12 BJP MPs have submitted their resignations.

Edited By : Riwa Singh | Updated: Dec 11, 2023 18:19 IST
Share :

The assembly elections for the five states namely Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Mizoram are over with the results giving strong indications to the ruling BJP (at the centre) for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in 2024.
A total of 21 MPs were fielded by the BJP in the four states as contenders. Now, all the members of parliament from BJP who have won in these assembly elections are resigning.

A total of 10 MPs have to resign, namely, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Diya Kumari, Rakesh Singh, Riti Pathak, Narendra Tomar, Arun Sao, Pralhad Patel, Uday Pratap Singh, Gomati Sai, and Kirorilal Meena (Rajya Sabha). Mahant Balaknath and Renuka Singh are also in the list.

As per sources from BJP, party President J.P. Nadda led the delegation of these MPs during the meeting with the PM, Lok Sabha Speaker, and Rajya Sabha Chairman.

BJP fielded 7 MPs each in Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, whereas in Chhattisgarh it fielded 4 MPs. In Telangana, 3 MPs contested. The party is forming the government in the three states of the Hindi belt, it has managed to fetch 8 seats in Telangana.

First published on: Dec 06, 2023 02:11 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story