Trending TopicsPM ModiBollywoodCricket

---Advertisement---

Watch: Shan Masood Run-Out On No Ball, But Stays Not Out – Here’s What Happened

Shan Masood, playing for Yorkshire in the Vitality T20 Blast, faced a unique scenario. He hit his stumps while on 58 runs against Lancashire, believing he was out. But a no-ball was revealed, sparing him dismissal. Despite confusion, Masood added 3 runs before being out, his situation governed by cricket's Law 31.7.

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Jun 21, 2024 15:26 IST
Share :
Shan Masood unique cricket incident: Run-out confusion due to hit-wicket misapprehension, upheld not-out after no-ball revelation.

Shan Masood, the Pakistan international cricketer representing Yorkshire in the Vitality T20 Blast, found himself in a peculiar situation where he remained unbeaten despite being run out off a no-ball. The incident unfolded during his innings on 58 runs against Lancashire’s Jack Blatherwick in the 15th over. Masood inadvertently hit his stumps while attempting a backfoot shot and momentarily strayed out of his crease, believing he was dismissed. Simultaneously, Lancashire players dislodged the bails at the opposite end, attempting a run-out.

Masood, however, made little effort to reach the opposite end of the pitch, believing he was already out after hitting the stumps with his foot. The situation took a dramatic turn when it was discovered that the bowler had bowled a no-ball by overstepping.

In this scenario, rule 31.7 became relevant, and despite Masood being hit-wicket and run-out on the same delivery, he was declared not-out.

After extensive discussion, the umpires decided to uphold Masood’s not-out decision for the run-out, citing MCC Law of Cricket 31.7, which pertains to a batter leaving the wicket under a misapprehension. Additionally, Masood could not be dismissed hit-wicket as the delivery was ruled a no-ball.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Possible Changes Team India Can Make Ahead Of Bangladesh Tie

Also Read: WATCH: Marnus Labuschagne Takes One Handed Blinder Catch In Vitality Blast

Unaware of the no-ball, Masood left his crease under the mistaken belief that he was out hit-wicket. Consequently, he could not be run out at the other end of the pitch.

In accordance with Law 31.7, ‘An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left the wicket under a misapprehension of being out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman.’

As a result, Masood added 3 more runs to his total, reaching 61 runs before he was eventually dismissed.

First published on: Jun 21, 2024 03:26 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story
Exit mobile version