Trending TopicsPM ModiBollywoodCricket


T20 World Cup 2024: 6 Teams Advance To Super-8, 10 Eliminated; 4 Teams Fight On

In the ongoing T20 World Cup, South Africa narrowly defeated Nepal by one run in the 31st match, eliminating Nepal from the tournament. Six teams, including India, South Africa, Australia, Afghanistan, West Indies, and debutants USA, have secured spots in the Super-8. Ten teams, including Pakistan and New Zealand, are out of contention.

Edited By : News24 Desk | Updated: Jun 15, 2024 13:44 IST
Share :
T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup excitement is at its peak. A total of 31 matches have been played so far in this tournament. The 31st match saw South Africa face Nepal, with South Africa securing a victory by one run. This defeat has resulted in Nepal’s elimination from the World Cup.

Six Teams Secure Super-8 Spots

Following 31 matches in the T20 WC, six teams have clinched their places in the Super-8. These teams include India, South Africa, Australia, Afghanistan, West Indies, and the USA. The USA, making their debut in the T20 World Cup, has impressed everyone with their remarkable performance in their first season.

Also Read: Internet Reacts To Nepal’s Heartbreaking One-Run Loss To South Africa In T20 World Cup

10 Teams Eliminated

While six teams have qualified for the Super 8, ten teams are out of the race. These teams include Pakistan, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Uganda, Nepal, and Oman. There are still two spots left in the Super 8, and four teams are now competing for those positions.

Among the teams that are out, Pakistan and New Zealand’s exits have been quite surprising. Both teams are usually considered very strong, but they have underperformed in this WC. Consequently, neither team managed to secure a spot in the Super-8.

Also Read: USA Makes History, Qualifies For T20 World Cup 2026

Two teams will advance to the Super 8 from England, Scotland, Bangladesh, and Netherlands. England and Bangladesh are favored among these four. The final two teams for the Super 8 are yet to be determined.

First published on: Jun 15, 2024 01:44 PM IST

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 on Facebook, Twitter.

Related Story