Saturday, February 4, 2023

Latest Posts

IND vs SL 2023: BCCI announces Indian squad for Sri Lanka, Hardik to lead in T20

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced India’s squad for forthcoming home series against Sri Lanka on Tuesday. Sri Lanka will tour India from January 3 for 3 matches of T20 formats. They will be followed by 3 ODI’s. The Matches are scheduled in Mumbai, Pune, Rajkot, Guwahati, Kolkata, and Thiruvananthapuram. All-rounder Hardik Pandya, will lead in T20, and Suryakumar Yadav will be the vice-captain.

Rohit Sharma, who got his thumb injured against Bangladesh, will be leading men in blue in the 3-match ODI series. Virat Kohli and K.L. Rahul are not part of the T20. Rishabh Pant has been given a rest from both the T20 and ODI. Shikhar Dhawan too will be missing the series owing to his not to so par performance against Bangladesh.

The BCCI has release the schedule under the chairmanship of Chetan Sharma but doesn’t clarify which player is rested and which are dropped from the squad. K.L. Rahul will be back in the ODI squad, but will not serve as vice captain. Hardik will be Rohit’s deputy in ODI.

Young pace attack in T20

Selectors have given priority to young players for the T20. Bhubaneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami were dropped from the T20 despite being a part of Playing XI in the World Cup squad. However, Shami is still a part of the ODI squad. The selectors have set up a young pace attack for the series.

Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar got their maiden call for T20. Mukesh Kumar earned maiden T20I call-up. In the latest Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Mavi had picked up ten wickets in seven games at an economy of 6.64; Mukesh six in six at 7.04.

Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh for T20, ODI

Arshdeep Singh, who was promising by his performance in the T20 world cup, got himself selected in both the squads. Meanwhile, Umran Malik also got himself enrolled in both the squad. At the start of an ODI World Cup year, India begin their home season by hosting Sri Lanka, after which they will also host New Zealand and Australia before the IPL.

India’s squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (W), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (W), Ishan Kishan (W), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -