Friday, October 7, 2022
HomeSportsFirst time in 85 years footballer becomes AIFF president, Kalyan Chaubey wins...

First time in 85 years footballer becomes AIFF president, Kalyan Chaubey wins election

Kalyan Chaubey has won the All India Football Federations elections and became the first president who is a former footballer.

Published on

New Delhi: The All India Football Federation has got its new president and it is first time in last 85 years that a former footballer has been given the command. Kalyan Chaubey won the election with the huge majority of 33 votes from the 34-members voters’ list made up of state association representatives.

Bhartiya Janta Party leader from West Bengal Chaubey defeated former Indian football captain Bhaichung Bhutia by 33-1 and took charge of the top position in organisation.

Also Read :- India women cricket team gear up to face England in T20I: SEE PICS

The election of AIFF were held after FIFA banned India from participating in international event due to ‘third party influence’ in the operation of the governing body.

Earlier, CoA was created to manage the affairs of AIFF and that cause FIFA putting the ban. The conditions for lifting the ban stated that the governing body should be independent with fairly elected administrators.

With the declaration of the results, AIFF now fulfils the conditions put forth by FIFA. However, the ban was lifted when the elections were announced.

Read More :- Latest Sports News
Click Here – Download The News 24 App

Get Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on News24. Follow News24 and Download our - News24 Android App. Follow News24 on Facebook, Telegram, Google News.

Latest articles


More like this