Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Latest Posts

T20 World Cup: India vs Pakistan rivalry over the years in World Cup

New Delhi: The Indian and Pakistan cricket teams share one of the most fierce rivalries in the game’s history. As T20 World Cup starts, the two opponents have found another format to prove their superiority over one another.

India have been much better when it comes to clashes with Pakistan at the T20 World Cups. The two arch-rivals have faced each other on six occasions at the stage with India winning five matches to Pakistan’s one.

As the two teams are all set to renew their rivalry at the T20 World Cup once again on Sunday, here is a recall of their previous six meetings:

Also Read :- T20 World Cup ENG vs AFG Preview: When, Where, & How to Watch!

2007 World T20, Group Stage

The two teams met each other for the first time in a T20 World Cup back in 2007. The game ended in a tie, but the MS Dhoni-led side were the ultimate winner after securing a 3-0 victory in the bowl-out contest.

2007 World T20, Final

The two teams met again on September 24; this time, the two teams fought for the World Cup trophy. India, batting first, posted a total of 157 runs. Later, Pakistan batsman Misbah-ul-Haq played a crucial knock of 43 but it was no good to his team as his side were bundled out for 152. India clinched a nail-biting five-run win in the final to become the inaugural champions of the competition.

2012 T20 World Cup

The third match between India and Pakistan at the T20 World Cup occurred in 2012. Indian pacer Lakshmipathy Balaji claimed three wickets in the group-stage fixture to restrict Pakistan to an achievable total of 128. Virat Kohli blasted an unbeaten 78 to earn a comfortable eight-wicket victory for his team.

2014 T20 World Cup

The 2014 T20 World Cup match between India and Pakistan turned out to be one-sided. Pakistan, batting first, could only manage to reach 130 runs. The Men in Blue, in response, reached the target with nine balls to spare and recorded a comfortable seven-wicket win.

Also Read :- T20 World Cup 2022: Who are the final Super 12 teams? Know ALL Details.

2016 T20 World Cup

India extended their unbeaten streak over Pakistan to five matches at the T20 World Cup with a six-wicket victory in 2016. India were left to chase 119 runs, Kohli once again hammered Pakistan with the bat, scoring an unbeaten 55 as India chased down the target with 13 balls to spare.

2021 T20 World Cup

Pakistan claimed their maiden T20 World Cup win over India in Dubai to finally end their wait. Pacer Shaheen Afridi picked up three wickets in the match as India could manage to score 151. The target did not seem to be quite challenging as the Babar Azam-led side secured a shocking 10-wicket victory to create history.

Read More :- Latest Sports News

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -