WhatsApp has FOOLED you..Here's how

New Delhi, Nov 16: Last month WhatsApp rolled out a feature to delete or recall the sent message within seven minutes of sending. This feature is useful when you send a wrong message to someone mistakenly in a hurry. So by this way sender can recall or delete the message before recipient reads.

But it seems some techies have found a way to read the deleted message on the recipient end. As per the report, Spanish Android blog Android Jefe has found a way to read the deleted messages on the recipient end.

According to the report, users with Android 7.0 Nougat or higher version can simply download a third-party app "Notification History' to read deleted messages. The app available in Play Store and it works only for deleted text messages, and not photos, videos or any other media. After installing the Notification History app, users will be able to see the deleted messages in the Android Notification log.

What Android Jefe found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of reading that record to see the deleted messages and Notification History app is a shortcut to that record.

The process is even easier for people using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher. In this case, there’s no need to download a third-party app to access deleted messages. Just long press the home screen, and then click on Widgets. Next, tap on Activities and then Notifications log to view notification log of the system.

In case you use third-party launchers like Nova Launcher then this process gets much easier and you don't need to download a third-party app to check the deleted messages. In Nova launcher case you just need to long press the home screen and then click on Widgets then tap on Activities and then Notifications log to view notification log of the device. However, there is a limit of first 100 characters of the message will be visible to users.  

Apart from this restriction, the messages are stored for a few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their smartphone.