Voting dates for assembly elections in 5 states announced

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for assembly elections in five states - West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Puducherry and Kerala.

The elections will be held in April and May. The 126-seat Assam assembly will go to polls in a two-phase schedule on April 4 and 11.

While, West Bengal's 294 seats will see a six-phase contest on seven dates - April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25 and 30 and May 5.

Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will witness voting on a single day on May 16.

Votes counting will be held on May 19.

News24 Bureau