Voting begins for Punjab municipal elections

Chandigarh, Dec 17: Voting for the Punjab municipal elections began on Sunday, Election Commission officials said here.

Polling began at 8 a.m. and will continue till 4 p.m.

The main contest is among the ruling Congress, main opposition Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP alliance. 

Local issues of towns and cities and the respective wards dominated the campaigning for the municipal elections.

The voting is being held for three municipal corporations of Amritsar, Jalandhar and Patiala, and 29 municipal councils and Nagar Panchayats.

The results will be declared on Sunday evening.

The election for the municipal corporation of Punjab's largest city, Ludhiana, was not being held as the electoral rolls were not updated.

Candidates in 90 wards have won unopposed, the spokesman said.

There are 873 polling stations and 1,938 polling booths across the state. 

A total of 8,000 election staff and 15,500 police personnel have been assigned for poll duty.

The Akali Dal-BJP and AAP had accused the Congress of misusing its power in the run-up to the municipal polls.