Akhilesh- Shivpal rift: 23 IAS, 13 PCS officials transferred

Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh government transferred 23 IAS and 13 PCS officials late on Wednesday, an official spokesman said. District magistrates of all the districts considered to be strongholds of the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) have been changed. These districts include Manipuri, Sambhal, Etah and Budayun. Other DMs who have been changed include Meerut, Gorakhpur, Bijnor and Sant Kabirnagar. Chief Development Officers (CDOs) of many districts have also been changed.  Sources said most of these officials had been posted on recommendations of the ousted PWD minister Shivpal Singh Yadav, who is in a face-off with Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.  The reshuffle in the bureaucracy comes as the battle for supremacy rages between the two stalwarts of the party and amid efforts by SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav to douse the fire.