Har Har Mahadev: Here's all you wanted to know about 12 Jyotirlingas in India: See Pics

12 Jyotirlingas

New Delhi, July 29: The auspicious month of Sravan is here and this is an apt time to tell you about the 12 Jyotirlingas in India which are holy pilgrimage places for the devout Hindus.

The Holy month of Shravan is here and it is infusing fresh energy and devotion in all Shiva devotees. Lord Shiva is more relevant in the present times and among the young generation. Gone are the days when the Shiv 'bhakts' were typically aged devotees thronging the temple during the Shravan to pay obeisance to their diety. 

The younger generation today relates to the Lord in a more powerful way. They interpret the Lord in a more relevant way; the charismatic and carefree Lord who cares less for the world around, the Lord who married the woman he loved, the Lord who was never dear to His in-laws and the Lord who loves liquor and cannabis. The youth today relate to this Lord more than any other Indian diety.

Therefore Shravan holds an important significance for all age groups across all caste, class, creed, and gender.

Jyotirlinga also known as 'Jyotirlingam' are the 12 special shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is a devotional representation of the Supreme God Shiva which means "Radiant Sign of The Almighty Shiva."According to the Shiv Purana, The Destroyer of Evil, God Shiva cursed Brahma because he lied that he found out the end of the huge Infinite Pillar of Light.Earlier, there were believed to be 64 jyotirlingas but now 12 of them are being worshiped in various locations in India and Hindu devotees from all across the country throng these Jyotirlingas to offer prayers and each Hindu thinks of visiting these auspicious structures in his lifetime.Here are the twelve traditional Jyotirlinga shrines in India:

12 Jyotirlingas1. Somnath Jyotirlinga: The Dwadash Jyotirlinga pilgrimage begins with the Somnath Temple. According to the Shiv Purana, Moon married 27 daughters of Dakshin Prajapati. After seeing his negligence for his other wives, he cursed moon that it would lose all its radiance.

12 Jyotirlingas2. Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga: According to the Puranas, Shiva-Parvati travelled to the mountain in search of their son Kartikeya and resided there by the name of Mallikarujna.  It is also known as “Kailash of the South”.

12 Jyotirlingas3. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga: It is also called as 'Srisaila' and is located on a mountain in Kurnool District in Rayalaseema. It is among one of the seven “Mukti-Sthal” – the place that can liberate a human being.

4. Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga: The word Omkareshwar means “Lord of Omkaara”. Lord Shiva emerged in the form of Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga when there ensued a great war between the Devas and Danavas, in which the Danavas won.

12 Jyotirlingas

5. Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga: Also known as Baidyanath, Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga is located at Deogarh in Jharkhand, erstwhile a part of Bihar. The devotees believe that the sincere worship of this shrine relieves a person from all his worries and miseries.12 Jyotirlingas6. Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga:  The story behind the existence of this Jyotirlinga is related to Kumbhakarna’s son Bhima and it is located in the Sahyadri region of Pune, Maharashtra.

12 Jyotirlingas

7. Rameshwar Jyotirlinga: Rameshwar Jyotirlinga is closely associated with Ramayana and Ram’s victorious return from Sri Lanka. It is located on the island of Rameshwaram.

12 Jyotirlingas

8.  Nageshwar Jyotirlinga: Nageshwar Jyotirlinga symbolises protection from all types of poison. It is located on the route between Gomati Dwarka and the Bait Dwarka Island on the coast of Saurashtra in Gujarat.

12 Jyotirlingas9. Kashi Vishwanath: It is believed that Banaras is the site at which the first Jyotirlinga manifested its supremacy over other Gods and said to be the dearest to Lord Shiva.

12 Jyotirlingas

10. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga: Hindus believe that this Jyotirlinga in Maharashtra is the one which fulfills everyone’s desires. It is located about 30kms from Nasik in Maharashtra near the mountain named Brahmagiri from the river Godavari flows.12 Jyotirlingas

11. Kedarnath Jyotirlinga: Pleased by the severe penance of the Nara and Narayana – two incarnations of Lord Vishnu, Lord Shiva took up permanent abode in Kedarnath in the form of this Jyotirlinga on the Rudra Himalaya Range on a mountain named Kedar.

12 Jyotirlingas12. Ghrishneshwar Jyotirlinga: Pleased with the generosity of his devotee Sudharm towards his wife, Shiva manifested himself in the form of the Jyotirlinga and assumed the name Ghushmeshwar. It is located in a village called Verul, which lies 20 km from Daulatabad, near Aurangabad in Maharashtra.

Here are the 60 things you need to know about the holy month of Shravana, watch this Video:

News24 Bureau with Agencies, Pic Google

Image Courtesy: Google