Rohit Sharma's controversial dismissal overshadows India innings

Rohit Sharma's controversial dismissal

Manchester June 27: Rohit Sharma's controversial dismissal was the main talking point of India' innings during their World Cup round robin match against the West Indies here on Thursday.

Rohit made 18 off 23 balls before being somewhat controversially adjudged caught behind off Kemar Roach's bowling.

The on-field umpire had given a not out decision. But the West Indies decided to appeal and the third umpire reversed the on-field decision despite the fact that television replays were unclear on whether the bat had hit the bat or the pad.

Following the incident, third umpire Michael Gough was heavily trolled on social media.

Earlier, Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first.

The Indians who are the only unbeaten side in the tournament did not make any changes to their playing XI from the last match against Afghanistan.

"We are gonna bat first. Looks like a hard surface. It's a used pitch expect it will slow down. I think closing out situations and capitalising will be the key. Same team," Kohli said after the toss.

The West Indies made two changes.

"We wanted to bat too well. Hopefully we get early wickets. We have got two changes. Sunil Ambris comes in for Lewis and Fabian Allen comes in for Nurse. Evin's struggling for the last couple of days. We are getting closer. Today's another opportunity," West Indies captain Jason Holder said.

News24 Bureau

Photo: Google Image