Pro-Panneerselvam AIADMK MPs walk out of Lok Sabha

New Delhi: Eight members of the AIADMK on Friday walked out of the Lok Sabha after their adjournment notice demanding a discussion on the death of former Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa was disallowed.

Soon after the house met, the AIADMK members aligned with former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam trooped near Speaker Sumitra Mahajan's podium raising slogans seeking a CBI inquiry into Jayalalithaa's death.

The members, including two women MPs, demanded "justice" for Jayalalithaa who died on December 5 after prolonged hospitalization. The MPs held placards with Jayalalithaa's picture.

Amid the din, Mahajan adjourned the house till 11.20 p.m.

When the house reassembled, the AIADMK members sought permission for an adjournment motion to discuss Jayalalithaa's death. When their request was turned down, the members staged a walkout.

After Jayalalithaa's death triggered a virtual split in the AIADMK, the party members in the Lok Sabha are divided into two factions: one backing Panneerselvam and the other aligned with Chief Minister E. Palaniswamy.