Polling for second phase of Bengal polls ends

Kolkata: Polling ended on Sunday evening in 56 constituencies spread across seven districts in the second phase of the West Bengal assembly elections. Polling came to end at 6 p.m. in five of the constituencies in Alipurduar district, seven in Jalpaiguri, nine in North Dinajpur, six each in Darjeeling and South Dinajpur and 12 in Malda districts, all in north Bengal. The only south Bengal district going to the polls in this phase is Birbhum. Of its 11 constituencies, seven -- Dubrajpur, Suri, Nalhati, Rampurhat, Sainthia, Hansan and Murarai -- have been classified as affected by Left-wing extremism and polling in these areas ended two hours earlier than elsewhere at 4 p.m. As per the last report, over 70 percent turnout was reported till 3 p.m. The second phase of the polls involved about 1.22 crore registered voters, 383 candidates, including 33 women, and 13,645 polling stations.