PM Modi in Rajasthan: 'Politics can't be changed with just a hug'

 New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Oct 6:  The elections date in Rajasthan is to be announced shortly and BJP is in no mood to take any chance. It was a clean sweep of BJP in 2013 Rajasthan assembly elections, and it was again a precursor to the General Elections in 2014 where BJP swept the elections with a thumping victory. PM Modi is in Pushkar today and is hurling blames on Congress while counting the virtues of the BJP government in the state.

"I am Prime Minister for the nation, but a worker for the BJP. So wherever I am invited, even if at a booth level meeting, I will be present," said PM Modi in Ajmer's Pushkar infusing life into the BJP workers. This is important keeping the forthcoming Assembly Elections in the state in mind.PM further added, "If the parties who do vote bank politics comes to power, they divide the government officers too according to their politics and provides posts only to those who fit their vote bank politics, and thus, destroy bureaucracy."

"In a healthy democracy, a strong opposition is needed. But, we have a set of people who not only failed in government for 60 long years, but also have failed as an opposition," added PM Modi with a direct attack on the Congress.

Vasundhara Raje came with a thumping victory in 2013 elections

Vasundhara Raje was sworn in as Rajasthan CM on 13 Dec 2013. It was a landslide victory for Vasundhara Raje, who led BJP with a thumping margin. She was sworn-in as the chief minister for the second time in the presence of Narendra Modi and other top party leaders.The incumbent ruling party Indian National Congress, led by the Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, lost the elections to Vasundhara Raje-led BJP, who was being touted as the next incumbent.There were 2,087 candidates including 166 women and one eunuch candidate. INC and BJP contested on all 200 seats while BSP on 195 seats. 38 CPI(M), 23 CPI, 16 NCP, 666 other parties candidates, and 758 Independents were also in the fray. Over 4.08 crore voters including 1.92 crore women were eligible to exercise their vote. There were 47,223 polling booths.Total voter turnout was 74.38%, the highest ever in state assembly election. The highest turnout (85.52%) was recorded at Jaisalmer and the lowest (55.21%) at Bharatpur. The Final list in the 200 assembly seats in 2013 was thus:Total number of seats: 200BJP-163 (+85)Congress 21 (-75)Rashtriya Janta Party 4 (+4)BSP 3 (-3)Independent 9 (-5)