PM Modi elated on UP victory, 'Development has triumphed'

New Delhi, Dec 1: "Development has triumphed once again in the country. Thank people of the state for this grand victory. Many congratulations to CM Yogi Adityanath & all party workers. This win motivates us to work even harder for people's betterment," tweets PM Modi.

BJP is seeing this as a very big victory fo two reasons, first it was a test of CM Yogi Aditynath's goverance and some also felt that it is a precursor to the Gujarat Polls.

The BSP gaving a tough fight to the BJP in the first three hours of counting of votes case in the mayoral elections in 16 municipal corporations, a Uttar Pradesh poll panel official said on Friday.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party has a slight edge in 12 places, the Bahujan Samaj Party, in a surprise development, was making considerable leads in the remaining four in the first round of counting. 

In the postal ballot round, the BJP did predictably well. 

The BSP candidate was leading in the Samajwadi Party (SP) stronghold of Firozabad while in Agra also, BSP candidate Digambar Singh Dhakre took a decisive lead on his nearest BJP rival Naveen Jain.

In Agra, Dhakre had polled 11,416 votes while BJP's Jain was trailing behind with 4,320 votes. 

After two rounds, in Firozabad, the BSP candidate polled 9,506 votes, BJP 4,677, SP 992 and Congress 355. 

Results for six corporation seats have also been announced in Agra of which five went to the BJP and one to the BSP.

News24Bureau with Agencies