PM Modi along with Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and others takes oath in the 17th Lok Sabha... Video

Modi in ParliamentNew Delhi, June 17: Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with other MPs on Monday took oath in the 17th Lok Sabha which will see the passing of the Union Budget and some key legislations including the Triple Talaq Bill being on top of the government's agenda.

Pro tem Speaker Virendra Kumar administered the oath to Modi and other parliamentarians.

The Prime Minister was followed by other senior MPs such as Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Road, Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari.A Congress MP from Kerala, Kodikunnil Suresh, surprised everyone on Monday by taking oath in Hindi as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha.The Kerala MP's move was welcomed by the House with the loud thumping of desks.

Suresh was the second member to take oath after Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The oath was administered by pro tem Speaker Virendra Singh.

PM Modi PM's request to Opposition before House commences:  

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses the media on the first day of Budget Session outside Parliament."Today, a new session is starting, there are new hopes and dreams with the beginning of this session.

"Since independence, this Lok Sabha election saw the highest number of women voters and women MPs. I am happy that this new house has a high number of women MPs.

"My experience also suggests that when the Parliament functions smoothly, we are able to fulfil numerous aspirations of the people of India."After several decades, a government has won an absolute majority for the second term. People have given us the chance to serve the country again.

"I request all the parties to support the decisions that are in favour of people," PM Modi said.

Former Union Minister and seven-time MP Virendra Kumar on Monday took oath as the Pro tem Speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha.President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to Virendra Kumar at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

In the first term of the Modi government, the 65-year-old senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader was Minister of State for Women and Child Development and MoS in the Minority Affairs Ministry. He has been seven-time MP from Tikamgarh in Madhya Pradesh.

He was a member of the 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th Lok Sabha.

Pro tem Speaker Virendra kumar

Virendra Kumar takes oath as Pro tem Speaker:The Pro tem Speaker is a temporary arrangement till the regular Speaker is elected by the Lok Sabha. Virendra Kumar will administer the oath to the new members of the Lok Sabha on Monday and Tuesday before the new Speaker is elected on Wednesday.

With Agencies, Pic Google