Parrikar wins Panaji Assembly by-election

Panaji: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar today won the Panaji Assembly by-election, defeating his nearest rival, Girish Chodankar of the Congress, by 4,803 votes. Parrikar polled 9,862 votes against 5,059 by Chodankar.

Image result for Parrikar wins Panaji Assembly by-election Goa Suraksha Manch president Anand Shirodkar polled only 220 votes, while 301 people pressed `None of The Above (NOTA) button. The polling was held on August 23. Parrikar was sworn in as the chief minister in March 2017 after the BJP formed a coalition government with Goa Forward Party, MGP and independents.