Over 26 pc voting till 12 noon in last phase of UP polls

Lucknow, Mar 8: Over 26 per cent votes were polled till noon for the seventh and last phase of Uttar Pradesh elections today in 40 Assembly seats spread over seven districts.

Polling started amidst tight security arrangements this morning with all eyes on Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi.

"Over 26 per cent votes were polled till 12 noon. The polling is going on peacefully," office of UP Chief Electoral Officer said here.

PM's constituency saw 23.76 per cent polling while naxal infested Mirzapur had 26.63 per cent polling till 11 AM, they said

Three Naxal-affected districts of Sonbhadra, Mirzapur and Chandauli, along with the five Assembly segments under Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency, will be in prime focus.

Tight security has been put in place in these seven districts.

Ghazipur, Jaunpur and Bhadoi are the other districts where polling is going on in this phase.

Polling will be held between 5 PM in all constituencies, except the Naxal-hit Duddhi, Robertsganj and Chakia seats, where polling will end at 4 PM.

Counting of votes polled in all the seven phases of the Assembly polls will be taken up on March 11.

1.41 crore voters, including 64.76 lakh women, are eligible to exercise their franchise in 14,458 polling booths and 8,682 polling centres to decide fate of 585 candidates, including 51 women.

The BJP is contesting 32 seats and its allies - the Apana Dal and the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party - are contesting on 4 seats each.