Nomination filing process for lone RS seat from MP begins

Bhopal, (PTI) The process of filing nominations for the by-poll for the lone seat of Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh began today after Najma Heptullah vacated it following her appointment as Governor of Manipur.

According to an official release, the by-poll was necessitated after she resigned from the Upper house on August 20 to take on the new assignment. The term of her office would have otherwise ended on April 2, 2018.

Heptulla had resigned from the Union Cabinet as Minority Affairs Minister in July, days after Prime Minister Narendra Modi had rejigged his Council of Ministers.

The 76-year-old leader was then appointed as Governor of Manipur.

The Election Commission recently issued a notification for the by-poll, which will be held on October 17.

Principal Secretary of Vidhan Sabha, A P Singh, has been nominated as the Returning Officer for the by-poll.

The process for filing nominations began today and will end on October 3.

The scrutiny of nominations will be done on October 4. 

The last date for the withdrawal of candidature is October 6, it said.

The polling for the seat will be held from 9 AM to 4 PM and soon after counting of votes will take place, it added.