No metro service outside Delhi, key stations to shut

New Delhi, March 19: Ahead of Jat community protests, Delhi Metro announced on Sunday it will suspend services to Haryana and Uttar Pradesh and close 12 important stations from Sunday night.

According to a Delhi Metro Rail Corp official, the 12 stations in central Delhi will be shut from Sunday 8 p.m. till further notice. 

But interchange facility will be available at the relevant stations.

The stations are Rajiv Chowk, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhavan, Lok Kalyan Marg, Janpath, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, R.K. Ashram Marg, Pragati Maidan, Khan Market and Shivaji Stadium.

Metro services will not be available outside Delhi -- Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. 

The routes to remain closed from Sunday 11 p.m. are: 

Sarai to Escorts Mujeswar and Guru Dronacharya to Huda City Centre in Haryana and Kaushambi to Vaishali and Noida Sector 15 to Noida City Centre in Uttar Pradesh. 

The Jat groups are demanding reservation for the community in government jobs and educational institutions among others. 

Violence during the Jat agitation in February 2016 in Haryana left 30 people dead and over 200 injured. Besides, government and private property worth crores of rupees was damaged.