New batch of in-residence scholars at Rashtrapati Bhavan

New Delhi, March 3 (IANS) A new batch of innovators, artists and writers on Friday began their fortnight long in-residence programme in Rashtrapati Bhavan, an official statement said."Ten Innovation Scholars, two Writers and two Artists selected under the In-Residence programme of Rashtrapati Bhavan commence their stay in Rashtrapati Bhavan," said the President's Secretariat release."They will be in residence till March 18," it added.The ten innovators selected for the programme includes Surjeet Singh of Haryana who developed high yielding and salt-tolerant paddy variety; Akash Manoj of Tamil Nadu who developed a non-invasive self diagnosis of silent heart attack and Girish Badragond of Karnataka, innovator of low cost bore-well scanners.Ashok Kumar Chavda, recipient of Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar and Prabal Kumar Basu, recipient of Gouri Bhattacharjee Memorial Award for his first book of poem "Tumeei Pratham" will join artists Rahul Shailendra Kokaste, winner of 50th Maharashtra State Award, along with the winner of Lalit Kala Academy award, 2016, Dheeraj Yadav.The In-Residence Programme was launched on December 11, 2013, to encourage the creative and innovative potential of people and open up Rashtrapati Bhavan for greater participation and involvement of citizens in its activities.