Modi derails Patnaik in Odisha, BJP to get 14 seats, BJD 7

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, May 19: Finally, Naveen Patnaik is unable to stop 'Fani' Modi in Odisha and has to be satisfied with just 7 seats. PM Modi has derailed Naveen Patnaik in Odisha. 

-Odisha BJD 7 (+/- 3), BJP 14 (+/-3) Cong 0 seats
-Odisha Vote % BJD 33% (+/- 3), BJP 41% (+/-3) Cong 7% (+/-3)

In 2014, though various exit polls had put the BJP’s prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi in the lead, no one got the magical figure right. But no one except News24- Todays Chanakya got right was that the BJP, on its own, will cross the majority marks on its own.Others had predicted the BJP-led NDA will get past the 272-mark, the simple majority needed in the 543-member Lok Sabha to form the government. The Congress was shown to be performing worst.

Polling began Sunday morning for 59 Lok Sabha seats in the seventh and last phase of Lok Sabha polls to decide the fate of 918 candidates including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is seeking to retain the Varanasi seat in Uttar Pradesh. 

Over 10.01 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise. The Election Commission has set up more than 1.12 lakh polling stations and has deployed security personnel for smooth conduct of polls.