MCD Results:Modi 'lehar' becomes 'kahar' for AAP, tally

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday swept all the three municipal bodies of Delhi, returning a tally of 181 of the total 270 seats for which elections were held on April 23.

The BJP won 64 of the 103 seats in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), 70 out of 104 seats in the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), and 47 of the 63 seats at stake in the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC).

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerged a distant second with 48 seats -- 21 seats in NDMC, 16 in SDMC and 11 in EDMC.

The Congress recorded a dismal performance with 30 seats -- 15 seats in NDMC, 12 in SDMC and just three in EDMC.

The BJP cornered 36 per cent of the votes polled, the AAP 26 per cent and the Congress 21 per cent.

While the BJP vote share remained almost the same as in 2012 (36.74 per cent), the Congress slid by almost nine per cent from 30.54 per cent in 2012.

The Bahujan Samaj Party won three seats - one in NDMC and two in EDMC.

The Samajwadi Party and the Indian National Lok Dal managed one seat each in SDMC. Six Independents also won in the civic polls.

Of the 272 seats in the three civic bodies, elections were postponed for Maujpur and Sarai Pipalthala seats due to the deaths of two candidates.