MCD Elections 2017 LIVE: BJP celebrates, AAP sulks and Maken quits

It is now clear that it is a Saffron Sweep in Delhi. While a confident BJP moves towards the podium, it is neck and neck for the Congress and AAP. BJP's sweep confirms that the Modi magic continues. For AAP it is a matter of survival and prestige now after losing Punjab, Goa and now at home turf. The final result will be a verdict on their magic. And for Congress, it is now a matter of survival.

3.05: Senior Congress leader & AICC General Secretary Gurudas Kamat resigns from all party posts.

2.52: As per the latest update, BJP wins 128, AAP 32 and Congress 21 seats

2. 50: Both of us (Me and Maken) in a way failed in our responsibility, party should have opportunity to put things in order and improve situation: PC Chacko

2.25: PC Chacko offers to resign as Congress Delhi in-charge

2.03: As per latest updates BJP wins 118, AAP 29 and Congress 20 seats

2.01: Grateful to people of Delhi for faith in BJP. I laud hardwork of team BJP which made the resounding MCD win possible: PM Modi

1.34: Kathni aur karni mein antar pad gaya hai: Anna Hazare on AAP

1.15: We dedicate this win to CRPF jawans who lost their lives in Sukma Attack: Manoj Tiwari, BJP Delhi Chief

12.35: Think President should dismiss Delhi government and order fresh elections. AAP support has evaporated. It was done in 1977,SC also upheld it:Subramanian Swamy

12.27: Taking responsibility for defeat in all 3 wards, I offer to resign as MLA and from all party posts: Alka Lamba, AAP

12.15: BJP ke shahsan mein naxal activity kum hui,naxals ki kamar tooti hai.Hum par woh sawaal utha rahe hain jinke shasan mein naxal panpe: Amit Shah

12.13: 2015 mein isi EVM se Kejriwal chun kar aaye the, iska jawab dein: Amit Shah 

11.53: Take responsibility for defeat and I am going to resign as Delhi Congress President: Ajay Maken

11.52: We have made a reasonable comeback, but I had hoped to do better

11.50: For 1 year I will not take up any post in the party, will work as a party worker: Ajay Maken

11.45: Take responsibility for defeat and I am going to resign as Delhi Congress President: Ajay Maken

11.40: Amit Shah: Results of Delhi Civic Polls will take forward BJP's winning chariot even further ahead  

11.30: BJP leaders had written books on EVM tampering, now same leaders saying EVMs are fine: Manish Sisodia

11.15: AAP a distant third in Delhi Civic Polls, some respite for AAP

10.50: Winning and losing is a part of democracy, one must accept mandate of the people with maturity: Nitin Gadkari

10.31: EC aur Govt ko duvidha duur karni chahiye par jo haarta hai vo kehta hai EVM kharab hai,jo jeet ta hai vo kehta hai theek hai

10.30: Aggressive campaign karna chahiye tha, maine campaign nahi kiya kyunki kisi ne mujhe kaha hi nahi: Sheila Dikshit

10.20: BJP only viable option available to voter today and that is why BJP given mandate at every level; thank voter of Delhi: J Singh, Union Minister

10.12: Arvind Kejriwal should resign: Yogendra Yadav

10.10: Yogendra Yadav, Swaraj India Founder: We have zero expectations. But anything we get above that is a plus for us.

10.07: Gopal Rai on AAP debacle: Yeh Modi lehar nahi hai, EVM lehar hai 

9.53: Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's team blames EVMs for loss in MCD polls.

9.46: Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia went to Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's residence as early counting trends showed the ruling party far behind in the civic polls

9.43: First results: BJP wins from Janakpuri West and Janakpuri East

9.18: State EC official trends: BJP-109,  AAP-28, Congress-22, Independent-1

9.08: Trends out for all 270 seats for MCD. BJP leading on 187 seats, Congress on 40 and AAP are ahead on 37 wards

8.55:  Bharatiya Janata Party's Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari is confident of the BJP victory

8.50: State EC official trends: BJP-73, Congress-16 , AAP-13 , Independent-1 

8.48: Trends look in tune with what I saw during campaigning.Ppl have faith in policies of BJP&leadership of PM: Dr Harsh Vardhan

8.40: State EC official trends: BJP-44, Congress-10, AAP-4, Independent-1 

8.35: BJP leading on 151 municipal wards of MCD; Congress ahead on 50 seats and AAP is at third place with 22.

8.30: BJP is ahead in 121 seats, Congress in 40, AAP leading in 16 seats

8.10: BJP ahead in all three municipal corporations. Party is ahead in 75 seats, Congress-20, AAP-12, others-5.

7.58: Early trends show BJP leading in Delhi MCD Elections with Congress second and AAP a close third. Who is the winner? BJP, AAP or Congress.

7:30- Counting of votes for Delhi Municipal polls to begin shortly