Karnataka natak reaches SC again

New Delhi/Bengaluru, May 18: The 'natak' in Karnataka has taken another dramatic turn with the Congress yet again deciding to move Supreme Court over the formation of the new government. The Congress said that the Governor Vajubhai Vala has once again launched an encounter on the Constitution by appointing KG Bopaiah as pro tem Speaker instead of the senior most MLA. However, the BJP has refuted the allegations." Yes, the option of going back to Court is open," said Congress spokesman Randeep Surjewala when asked if Congress will challenge BJP MLA KG Bopaiah's appointment as pro tem Speaker. However HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar has said there is merit in Congress protest. "KG Bopaiah was appointed as Pro Tem speaker even in 2008 by the then Governor. That time Bopaiah was 10 years younger than what he is today. Congress is thus raising hoax objection. The appointment of Bopaiah Ji is as per rules and regulations," said JavdekarEarlier, on Friday, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala appointed BJP legislator KG Bopaiah as Karnataka Assembly's Pro-Tem Speaker for administering oath to all newly elected legislators on Saturday ahead of the floor test directed by the Supreme Court, a party official said."The Governor appointed and administered the oath to Bopaiah as the Pro-Tem Speaker at the Raj Bhavan," BJP Spokesman Vamanacharya told IANS here.Bopaiah, 62, is a three-time legislator from Virajpet seat in Kodagu region, 260 km from Bengaluru. He was Speaker during the Bharatiya Janata Party rule in the state from 2008-13.All newly-elected legislators will be administered oath in the Assembly premises.Earlier in the day, the Supreme Court ordered the floor test in Assembly at 4 p.m. on Saturday.In the May 12 elections held in 222 constituencies across the state, 104 seats were won by the BJP, Congress (78), JD-S (37), one by independent, one by Bahujan Samaj Party and one by regional Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party.Though the JD-S won 37 seats, its effective strength is 36 since its state President H.D. Kumaraswamy won from Channapatna and Ramanagara segments but has only one vote.News24Bureau/IANS