Parrikar to be BJP CM in Goa

Parrikar to be BJP CM in Goa

Panaji: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar will be Chief Minister in a BJP-led government in Goa, Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari announced on Sunday.

"The Defence Minister will resign before he takes oath as the new Goa Chief Minister," Gadkari told reporters here after the BJP Parliamentary Board met in New Delhi.

Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party leaders, led by Parrikar, met Goa Governor Mridula Sinha to stake claim to forming the government in the coastal state.

Gadkari said the BJP has support of 21 lawmakers in the 40-member house and "we are likely to get the support of one or two MLAs".

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 13 seats while the Congress bagged 17. The remaining seats went to Goa Forward Party and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (three each), Nationalist Congress Party (one) and Independents (three).


Next Story