India elects to bat in second Test vs Australia

Bengaluru: Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat in the second cricket Test against Australia at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Saturday.

After winning the opening Test in Pune by a mammoth 333-run margin, Australia on Friday announced they will go in with an unchanged squad. 

India, on the other hand, made a couple of changes in their playing XI from the last match.

Middle order batsman Karun Nair has replaced all-rounder Jayant Yadav and opener Abhinav Mukund has come in for Murali Vijay, who was ruled out of the Test after a shoulder injury.

Teams: Australia: Matt Renshaw, David Warner, Steve Smith (Captain), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (WK), Mitchell Starc, Steve O'Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

India: Abhinav Mukund, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Karun Nair, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.