Heart beats rise as Congress leaders Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia received Observer AK Antony

New Delhi, News24 Bureau, Dec 12: Congress leaders Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia received Observer AK Antony at the Bhopal Airport in Madhya Pradesh. The party MLAs' meeting begins at 4 PM todayThe Congress is all set to form the government in Madhya Pradesh with the support of three MLAs of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) and four Independents.Madhya Pradesh Congress President Kamal Nath would be meeting Governor Anandiben Patel to stake claim to form the government that was made easier by the resignation of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan who conceded defeat.After submitting his resignation to the Governor, Chouhan said: "I have tendered my resignation to the Governor. The responsibility of defeat is totally mine."The Congress fell two short of the halfway mark when it won 114 seats as the battle went to the wire on Tuesday, with the BJP securing 109 seats in the 230-member Assembly.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party, which contested on their own bagged two and one seats, respectively in the final tally in Madhya Pradesh.Four Independent candidates, most of whom were Congress rebels also won the election.In the 230-member strong Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh, the BJP trailed marginally at 109, while the Mulayam Singh Yadav's Samajwadi Party (SP) has won 1 seat and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has bagged 2 seats. On the other hand, Independents have won 4 seats all over the state.Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan won from his traditional Budhni seat. Chouhan, who contested against Congress' Arun Subhashchandra, gathered a total of 1,23,492 votes. However, as many as 12 ministers from the current Madhya Pradesh Council of Ministers lost from their respective constituencies, including Antarsingh Arya (Sendhwa), Deepak Joshi (Hatpipliya), Jai Bhan Singh Pawaiya (Gwalior), Rustam Singh (Morena), Jayant Malaiya (Damoh), and Sharad Jain (Jabalpur North).Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday said the drubbing faced by the BJP in assembly elections was a message to Prime Minister Narendra Modi that he had failed to fulfil his promises and asserted that a united opposition will defeat BJP in the next year's Lok Sabha polls as well. He said that "it is time for a change" and that the Congress will provide a new vision to the country to address the problems like unemployment, agricultural crisis."Earlier, Prime Minister Modi said, "We accept the people's mandate with humility. I thank the people of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan for giving us the opportunity to serve these states. The BJP Governments in these states worked tirelessly for the welfare of the people."Besides, Madhya Pradesh, the BJP has lost power in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh which is perceived as a major blow to the saffron party ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.Madhya Pradesh went for voting on November 28 while the counting of votes started on December 11. In 2013 Assembly polls, the BJP had won 166 seats, while the Congress and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had bagged 58 and four seats respectively.

With Agencies