Gujarat Assembly Elections: List of 70 BJP candidates out

New Delhi, Nov 17: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday itself had finalised the list of BJP candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in the state of Gujarat at the central election committee meeting (CEC).

The meeting chaired by PM Modi was also attended by present Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani and party President Amit Shah. According to PTI a preliminary list, prepared by the state unit of the BJP, was also discussed.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani will fight the polls from the Rajkot (West) seat, while deputy CM Nitin Patel will contest from Mehsana.

The first list is out and it has 70 candidates and includes 45 legislators for first phase of seats and 25 for second phase.

The sitting legislators are in again. Thos who joind the BJP uring the Rajya Sabha polls, like Congress legislators like Raghavji Patel, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, C.K. Raolji, Mansinh Chauhan and Ramsinh Parmar have also been fielded.

News24Bureau with Agencies