New Delhi (Anish Yande): Among the spree of features introduced by WhatsApp, the Delete for Everyone feature is useful for when users send a message meant for others mistakenly on a group on WhatsApp. The feature is meant to protect users from the further embarrassment by deleting the message promptly. Here are fixes for when the feature does not work.
How to Use the Delete for Everyone Feature:
Step 1: Select WhatsApp, and open the conversation which has the message you want to delete.
Step 2: Tap once on the message to select it and then tap and hold the message. An icon of a dustbin shall appear.
Step 3: Three options shall appear for you. These options include Delete for everyone, Delete for me, and Cancel.
Step 4: Select 'Delete for Everyone' and the message would be deleted.
How to fix the errors with Delete for Everyone:
WhatsApp has stated that the primary reason this feature wouldn't work is when users haven't updated the app to the latest version. You have to ensure that your WhatsApp is updated to the latest version for the 'delete for everyone' feature to work.
Another fix is you have to delete the message within an hour of posting it. If you select the feature after an hour, WhatsApp would notify you if the message was deleted. Users should take the precaution to stay aware while sending messages to any groups or chats, as it is troublesome to erase them after an hour.
How to read the Deleted Messages on WhatsApp:
One way to view deleted messages on WhatsApp is to keep your WhatsApp notifications enabled. The content of the deleted messages can be viewed in the notification panel of WhatsApp messages is not cleared.
Third-party apps on the Play Store can show you the content of the messages that were deleted. However, users are advised to stay cautious while using these apps as they are not under the purview of WhatsApp. These apps could compromise the security of your WhatsApp account.
Image Credit: Google