DMK names candidate for RK Nagar bypoll

Chennai: DMK today announced N Maruthuganesh as it candidate for the April 12 bypoll for RK Nagar constituency. 

Party General Secretary K Anbazhagan made the announcement through a party release here. The DMK candidate will take on arch rival AIADMK, which has fielded its Deputy General Secretary T T V Dinakaran.

The byelection was necessitated following the December 5, 2016 death of Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa who represented this city constituency in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly.